Tags

, , ,

The Court Cabinet is finished. I love the Annie Sloan, Duck Egg Blue paint, it’s a very soft shade. I might just have to paint myself something in this colour – could do with a new bathroom cabinet.

I now have an enormous sideboard to refurbish. It’s incredibly heavy because it’s made from solid hardwoods.  I had more or less decided to use Farrow & Ball paint, but have had a change of mind. I love Annie Sloan’s ‘Old Ochre’, so might plump for that instead. First things first though – today I am going to sand back the top to see if the numerous stains will come out, or at least diminish to an acceptable level. There are lots of ring stains on the top and it looks as though rusty paint tins are the culprit as they are too big to be cup rings.

It is sad to think that such fine pieces of furniture end up in garages and sheds, just to be used as storage for DIY paraphernalia. But then, I’d be out of business if everyone loved and cherished their furniture!

Here is the before (I know it looks pretty good in the pic, but it’s got quite a few marks when seen close-up, so hopefully will look better painted).

