Tags

, , ,

Today I went to an antique auction and there were some lovely items.

I spent far too much money, but have some nice things to work on icluding 2 chests of drawers. They are a new thing for me, I haven’t painted or sold any before, so will have to wait and see if my investment was a wise one or not.

One chest of drawers is average size, the other is enormous, with great slabs of wood and huge carved legs. I like it and hope that my paintwork will do it justice. I’m hoping to leave the drawers and just paint the sides, but will have to have a closer look tomorrow to see if the woodwork is good enough to stay as-is. I don’t quite know why I always plump for huge items of furniture; they make my back ache when lifting them, but I keep going back for more.

I have a lovely French style sideboard (not the big un seen previously, but a normal size one) that will be started tomorrow. The laborious task of sanding and priming awaits; I don’t mind admitting that this part of a furniture refurb is not my favourite, not least because the furniture looks decidely worse, before it starts to look better. I’d originally decided on Paris Grey paintwork, but perhaps Old White will ring the changes a little.

Today saw the finishing touches to a dresser I’ve been working on for a few days. The Duck Egg Blue Ercol pictured in a previous post sold quickly, so this latest piece is also Duck Egg Blue. I love the colour – it suits vintage furniture very well and is neither too bling nor too plain. Let’s hope this one is as popular as the Ercol – I need to replenish my bank account!

Old Charm, Duck Egg Blue Dresser

 

