Tags

, , ,

I recently sold an Ercol Court Cabinet, so without pause for breath, I’ve started working on another one. Not an Ercol this time, an older, more fancy, antique cabinet, with lots of lovely carving.

I want to show off the carved oak detail, but don’t want to distress the cabinet, so have gone for a wash of colour in the carved areas. I’m hoping to achieve the right amount of transparency to allow some of the dark oak to show through, but with enough colour to marry in with the fully painted, flat areas.

Below are some pics of my progress. The cabinet has been sanded (took over 4 hours and that was with help from my hubby) and the flat areas have been primed. I’ve started building up layers of wash in the nooks and crannies. It’s not a pretty sight at the minute, but I shall keep calm and carry on. Painted furniture tends to look worse before it gets better (well, that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m working indoors today because it’s raining and I find the lack of space annoying, but on the plus side, the kettle is much nearer to hand.

Pics of the finished cabinet to follow.

