Tags

,

As you may have guessed, if you’ve read my blog before, I use 2 brands of paint: Farrow & Ball, and Annie Sloan.

They are both entirely different. F & B gives a formal, one tone look and looks good on furniture which is quite ornate or delicate. I use the eggshell finish, which has a slight sheen. Annie Sloan paint is chalk based, so the finish is matt (although it can be waxed and buffed to a soft sheen). There’s quite a bit of pigmentation to the Annie Sloan paint, which gives a textured multi-tone finish. It looks good on chunky furniture.

I like both. They each have their own qualities.

To ring the changes, I’m trying out a new brand of paint (new to me that is) and will blog more about it once I’ve given it a whirl. They do some very pretty colours, which I hope look as good on wood as they do in the tin. Like all quality paints, it isn’t cheap, so if the money’s anything to go by, it should look terrific.  I’ve ordered 3 colours: a grey/taupe shade, a blue and a neutral/cream. I’m a bit of a paint tart, so if I like them, there will no doubt be lots of other colours on order too.

