Tags

, , ,

The 6 seater dining set is finished. It took ages, mostly because the chairs were quite fiddly, and there was the re-upholstery too. It’s Annie Sloan’s ‘Duck Egg Blue’. I just love the colour of this paint – it’s so subtle and suits vintage furniture so well.

duck egg blue dining set

I have finished, or more or less finished painting the bottom half of the armoire in the ‘new paint’. It went on like a dream, very smooth and silky, there must be a catch, as I always have teething troubles with new paint!

I’m undecided whether to paint some roses on the base cupboard doors, or to leave them plain. I’ll have a better idea what to when the top half is finished and I can see how it all comes together.

I have some smaller projects to make a start on this week. There’s an oak telephone table and also 4 chairs to paint and re-upholster (they are to go with a blonde oak dining table I bought). I have some lovely old gold velvet that I’m planning on using for the re-upholstery. I’m undecided whether to use the new paint in Vanilla, or Annie Sloan’s ‘Old Ochre’ for the new dining set. I’d more or less decided to try the new paint, but I do love the ‘Old Ochre’ colour on dining furniture, it’s so warm and friendly.

The weather was so warm today that I abandoned painting for a few hours, as the sun was burning the back of my neck, but had an hour or so this evening finishing off the parts of the armoire that I’d left.

I’ve been very busy the past few weeks and hope to have a few days off next week to catch my breath . Whenever I promise myself some time off, work gets busy, so I’m not planning too far ahead with my leisure time. The perils of being self-employed are that weekends and week days have no distinction, and it’s all too common to work 7 days a week; there’s always some thing to do.

