Tags

, , ,

I’m part way through the refurb of a writing bureau. The drawers are in good order, with a lovely inlaid design, but the top was just too shabby to be chic, so it’s being painted.

The inlay design is a little proud of the background woodwork, so I’m using it to trace the original design back onto the new paintwork. I’m going to paint the tracing ‘old gold’ once I’ve finished the remainder of the bureau. Below is a pic of the beginnings of the tracing work – I’m just using a soft pencil to outline the design.

The idea being that the top will then marry in nicely with the wooden drawers (pictured below).

I’m not a fan of over zealous, gratuitous distressing, but I think this bureau will look better with a little faux ageing added to it once I’ve done the ground work. I’ll have a better idea in another day or so, once it’s all being put back together.

I’ve had a very busy week selling, so am trying to get stocks back up, but failing miserably. The weather was so awful yesterday, and the humidity prevented paint from drying, so I didn’t get much done. I did manage to finish a telephone table with some nice carving on it.

Paris Grey background with Old White relief - both Annie Sloan paint

In the back of my van is a hexagonal table that I picked up from an auction – I can’t wait to get cracking on it, but really ought to try and do a bit more to the armoire today. The new paint continues to impress me, but the armoire does look a bit too ‘new’ at the minute. I’m seeking inspiration and hope to have a eureka moment before the week is out.

