Tags

I’m working on the refurbishment of an antique oak writing bureau. It has one of my favourite features – barley twist legs. Although sturdy, the bureau had a few blemishes here and there, and being dark oak, was just too dark for modern tastes.

Here is the bureau following its cosmetic surgery – a repair to some trim and a thorough sanding to prepare it for priming.

Here it is following the first coat of primer. No please don’t panic, it will get better, honest! I’m keeping the lovely, vintage drop handles that came with the bureau, but just removed them so that I can paint the drawers neatly.  You can see the green and white stripe plastic sheet next to the bureau – yup, the weather is unsettled – boiling one minute, dark clouds the next.

Not sure on colours yet, but I’m tempted to go for the Designers Guild ‘Duck Egg’ with a paler colour on the trims. Will post some pics of the finished article in a couple of days.

 

