Tags

, ,

Quite a few furniture bloggers have written posts about their favourite furniture refurbs over 2011. So without further ado, I thought I’d follow suit with a few of my favourites.

One of the items, the cupboard painted in Farrow and Ball ‘Bone’, I bought at auction for £2, yes that’s just £2!!! Before you get too envious about my profit margins, the cupboard took me a whole week to mend and refurbish and I sold it for £75. That was one of my first items and a very steep learning curve, not least because the new handles cost a tenner and the paint £18 (and there was primer too, just to add insult to injury, and sand paper and paintbrushes and…). The before pic shows just how the auctioneer must have laughed when someone bought that cupboard for £2. So, by my reckoning, I think my wages that week amounted to less than £1 per hour. Still, the weather was nice from what I recall:-)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The first items that I painted were all of a similar ilk; quite formal, mostly creamy colours, no distressing. Although I still paint to that kind of style, I’m also starting to use more paint effects and finishes. I don’t think my stuff will ever be beaten with bike chains to heavily distress it (it would distress me too much afer all that painting!), but I do like to go off piste and add bells and whistles now and then.

I’m not the sort who will stick to one kind of style; painted furniture is all about looking at each piece and deciding how it will best be transformed, so it’s no good being a one trick pony. And that’s what I love the most about what I do. Each piece of furniture is an adventure and a challenge (and a bit of an indulgence sometimes too). So, tomorrow I’m off to auction to see what goodies are just waiting to be given a new lease of life. Think I’ll steer clear of the £2 cupboards though! Can’t wait!

