Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s been a while since I painted a dresser. They’re one of my favourite items to refurbish, so I’m looking forward to the latest. It’s an Ercol; I’ve painted Ercol’s before and do like their workmanlike construction, with the chunky bolt closures, thick functional dowels and simple, stylish wooden knobs. The pic below shows the newly sanded top. There was still some work to do – as you can see the dowels were stubbornly holding onto the dark stain.

refurbishment of an Ercol dresser

Tomorrow will see the start of the painting, which I think will be Annie Sloan ‘Duck Egg Blue’.

 I finished an oak barley twist dining/occasional table today, which was painted in Farrow & Ball ‘Elephant’s Breath’. The first coat of paint was just fine to do because of the contrast between the white primer and grey paint, but come the second coat, I had a job to remember what had and hadn’t been painted twice. There were just so many legs; I hope I managed to catch them all!

Oak barley twist dining/occasional table

My previous post shows the barley twist part way through being sanded.

I’ve also just about finished a coffee table, which has been painted in Annie Sloan ‘French Linen’. This one has been distressed because I wanted some of the original red woodwork stain to show through.

French Linen Coffee Table

There’s also a chunky oak coffee table on the go, which I shall be painting this evening in Designers Guild ‘Vanilla’. No rest for the wicked!

Wednesday

Well, I finished the Ercol dresser today and here it is:

Ercol Dresser - Annie Sloan 'Duck Egg Blue'

 

I rough waxed the paintwork to give lots of hues to the colour.

