Ok, so it took a while for me to get used to Annie Sloan’s ‘French Linen’, but I’m now a fan.

The weather has been too cold and wet for me to do any prep of big items (I do them outside), so I’ve been busy with a couple of smaller items; a writing bureau and a demi-lune cabinet. They’re both being painted in French Linen, but the bureau has some detailing painted in Old Ochre to provide a bit of contrast. The cabinet is quite different to anything I’ve painted before and looks very elegant in its new paint. Tomorrow I shall be waxing it and putting back the handles – if the rain holds out it’ll be photographed and put up for sale.

Demi-lune cabinet in French Linen

I might get the bureau finished at a squeeze, but it’s more likely to be Thursday.

1930's Oak Bureau in French Linen with Old Ochre

Yup, it was Thursday.

Hand painted white rose with French script to inside shelf of bureau

I decided to paint one of my signature roses to the inside of the bureau and added some vintage French script.

I went to pick up a dresser from an auction house today, only to find it was too big to fit in my van. Oh well, I did wonder where I was going to find room to store it, so an extra day or two will give me a chance to squish things up a bit more and despatch the items that I’ve recently sold. My husband informs me that the weather is improving by the weekend, so all being well I’ll make good progress with the dresser once the cold and rain has cleared off for a while.

I’m looking forward to starting work on the dining table that I bought at the weekend. It has very nice walnut graining to the top and lovely Queen Ann style legs. There is a carved edge to the table top, which deserves to be enhanced by some sort of paint effect – not too sure what yet, I need to have a coffee and ten minutes looking at it for some inspiration.

