Tags

, , , ,

A few weeks back I bought a lovely walnut veneered table at auction. It’s got some nice fancy carving on its Queen Ann legs and the veneer is very pretty too. Here it is in the raw:

Walnut drop leaf dining table

 This is the table after the first coat of Annie Sloan ‘French Linen’. The paint looks a bit pale in the photo, but it’s a couple of shades darker than depicted:

Painted Queen Ann legs

Don’t you just love my bobble hat! It kept slipping over my eyes whilst I was trying take the pictures. I’m planning on adding a generous amount of gold gilding to the table edge trim and may add just the odd touch to the leg carvings. I hope to get it finished by Thursday or Friday.

I had an email from a customer today, who has just taken delivery of an Ercol dresser that I painted a couple of weeks back. The dresser is for display purposes in the Sarah Dallas Gallery in Edinburgh. Here it is, complete with very cute dawgie stealing the limelight:

Ercol dresser in Duck Egg Blue

 Sarah’s website has some very nice things to drool over; I particularly like the picture of the Highland Beastie – if you fancy a look at the Gallery website, here’s the web address:    http://www.sarahdallas.co.uk/

Friday

Not much change yet on the walnut table. I got the second coat of French Linen on this afternoon when the sun came out and the temperature improved a little. I’ll probably leave it until Sunday before attempting to put wax on the paintwork; it looks as though the weather won’t get above freezing tomorrow.

walnut table after second coat of French Linen

