Tags

, , , , ,

I bought a writing bureau last year and sent my husband out to collect it. He came back with the bureau and also a ‘teak’ dining table that he’d spotted. I took one look at it and said “It’s oak”. “Oh” said hubby, looking a bit deflated. “I like it” said I. Hubby looked somewhat relieved.

The table has sat patiently waiting to be refurbished, whilst I have been trying to find some chairs to go with it. I finally spotted 4 that looked perfect. They are from the same era, 1930’s – 40’s, have a nice chunky design and also have some very nice detail on them. The table base has some glorious, bulbous, turned legs with carvings.

The second coat of French Linen went on the chairs today, but the table hasn’t been started yet. The chairs, seat pads need new foam and I’ve some lovely sepia rose fabric to upholster them with. The table top needs sanding down but it’s just not safe to do so in the snow, so that job will have to wait for a day or two.

Progress is still slow because of the weather, but I’ve ticked along. I had to throw out some paint today because it had ‘gone all funny’ due to being frozen. I thought it might be ok once I got it inside to thaw, but alas it wasn’t and it looked as though someone had thrown sand in it.

Hopefully I will get back to full steam next week, when I will also be looking for some new stock. I’ve no dressers to paint at the minute and could also do with some smaller items. I bought a couple of new (new to me that is) Farrow and Ball paints today, which I’m looking forward to trying out – Lamp Room Gray and French Gray. They are sitting in my hallway until the weather picks up!

 

