Tags

, , ,

Further to my previous post on the new chalk paint made by Autentico Vintage.

Fancy a couple or 3 hours watching paint dry? Well I’m up for it if you are! Give me a few weeks to get to grips with this new paint and I’ll put together a pilot demo on my home turf because the village hall is as cheap as chips to rent  I can get all my stuff there easily. Perhaps end of April beginning of May if there are enough of you interested?

There will probably be a nominal charge, just a few pounds, to cover the rent of the hall (or a similar venue) and some refreshments. I will see what Autentico say about offering samples or some sort of discount if anyone wants to buy their paint from them. I’m not a stockist at the moment, so there won’t be a hard sell at all and I’m always honest about the attributes and pitfalls of any products I use. Chances are I’ll be using a few other products, to show comparisons as to what you can achieve with various paints and finishes. I’ll bring along some finished items along so that you can see what kind of refurbs you can do with vintage furniture.

If you’re interested and not too far away (I’m NG23 area – about ten minutes off the A1 between Newark and Grantham), drop me a line at: barristers.horse@gmail.com

Let me know if weekdays, weekends or evenings are best and I’ll tailor a day and time to suit the majority.

If you are too far away, drop me a line anyway telling me where you are – I’ll see about doing something elsewhere later in the year if there is enough demand.

I’ll be covering the basics, up to some simple paint effects and will get some bits and bobs together for everyone to have a dabble. Nothing too heavy going or daunting is planned, just some straight forward painting of small items and a little bit of bling to add finishing touches.

Other News

I wasn’t planning on going to an auction today, but made a last minute decision to go and see what was on offer. I was out-bid on most of the items on my list, but did manage to pick up a few nice bits and pieces. The nicest was a set of 4 carved chairs with pink upholstery. I’m hoping that the upholstery will clean up nicely; there a few small marks on 2 of the chairs. I’m planning on replacing the trim, which is a bit worn and tired.

Dark mahogany carved chair

I’ve got some Annie Sloan ‘Antoinette’ ordered and will probably paint the chairs in that colour – its pale beige/washed out pink hues should suit the chairs well. I think a little distressing will be on the books as I like the really dark, almost black, woodwork, so it would be nice to see some of it peeking through the paintwork.

I also bought a couple of nice side tables, one of which was prepped this afternoon. Hubby is painting it *cough*, under my critical, disapproving, gaze loving guidance:-) I’ve got a nice French ephemera image to transfer onto the table – quite how I’m going to do it is a complete mystery at this point in time.

Friday

Well I got there with the French script; here it is:

French script in place

The beginning of a rose:

a bit of bling in progress

Done!

 

