Tags

, , ,

I’m painting a carved ebony chair in the new Annie Sloan ‘Antoinette’.

Here’s a before:

An ebony carved chair

Here’s where I’m at:

Work in progress with 'Antoinette' paint

This afternoon, I’ll be second coating the chair. There’s lots of the original wood on show because I like the contrast between the pale vintage pink paint and the almost black wood.

Having given the Autentico Vintage paint a good run for its money, I have decided to become a stockist. I’ll be receiving my first ‘proper’ order of paints sometime in April. In the meantime, it’s a matter of deciding which colours to go for – to start with I’m looking to stock about 15 – 20 colours. If you’re interested in the paint, I’ve got a separate page set up, which you can find on the menu bar at the top of the home page.

I will be adding further details and some pics of colours as the weeks go on. I’m planning on having pics of a piece of furniture in all the colours I’ll stock, but it will be some time before I can paint that many items. I always find colour charts a bit mis-leading, so thought a picture of the paint colour on a piece of furniture would help you to see the paint as it looks ‘in situ’.

The paint itself is very straightforward to use; quite similar to painting with a good quality eggshell such as Farrow & Ball. The consistency is such that coverage is good, but without leaving obvious brush strokes. The finish is ultra chalky matt and formal (but you can use the paint to create various effects, much the same as Annie Sloan chalk paint). Waxing is quick and easy, and the paint can also be varnished if preferred (I haven’t tried varnishing it yet). Brush clean up is quick and easy – just rinse with water, and the paint is eco-friendly; being VOC free.

The pieces I’ve done so far have covered with 2 coats, much the same as Annie Sloan. I’m guessing that the very pale shades will need additional coats, particularly if the original furniture stain/finish is dark.

The paint has a slightly longer drying time than Annie Sloan chalk paint, so there’s ample time to go over bits you’re unhappy with, without the paint dragging or going into chalk balls. Adhesion is good too.

As you may have guessed I’m a fan of Autentico Vintage, but I won’t be abandoning the acrylics or Annie Sloan paints; they each have their own attributes, but I like the tidy, formal finish that the Autentico Vintage gives – it’s like an eggshell finish without the shine.

A bit later…

And here’s the chair after its second coat of Antoinette. Would love to say it was a dream to paint, but it was a pain in the neck. The second coat kept pulling off the first coat, despite the fact that the first coat went on 36 hours ago! I finished up using my softest artists brush and gently sweeping over the edges, where I’d experienced most problems with a ‘normal’ paint brush.

I can’t say that painting a chair with a half inch art brush makes for a relaxing afternoon, but where there’s a will, there’s a way:

Carved ebony chair, painted in Annie Sloan 'Antoinette'

I’m undecided whether or not to distress the front edges of the legs; maybe a little of the dark wood showing through will add balance, or maybe it will be a step too far. I’ll sleep on it…

… After sleeping on it, I decided to leave it. Here it is:

Carved antique ebony chair, painted Annie Sloan 'Antoinette'

And here’s a close-up of the fancy carving on the chair top:

Close-up of the carved chair top

 

