Tags

, , , ,

A game of 2 halves today. This morning I went to see the dresser my husband is working on, up at my parents workshop. It’s an old oak dresser, similar to a few I’ve refurbished in the past. Hubby had got into a bit of a pickle with flat brushing some of the carvings. The carvings to the top are nicely defined, and the ‘Ivory’ worked well in contrast with the ‘Linen’ paint. (I wondered what the Autentico Vintage ‘Linen’ would look like on a piece of furniture and I wasn’t disappointed; it’s lovely). However, the floral carvings to the base cupboards weren’t carved very deeply and the flat brushing hadn’t really been successful. I decided to reduce the area of flat brushing to just the corners, and this seemed to work better (pics to follow).

The dresser will be waxed tomorrow or Tuesday and then it’s just a matter of putting it all back together again. Cupboard doors that have hung quite nicely for 50 or so years have a habit of throwing a tantrum when removed for painting, so I expect there will be quite a few *tuts* when it comes to putting them back on again.

This afternoon was chair painting time:

Dining chair, painted in Annie Sloan ‘Duck Egg Blue’

I only managed to do a couple of second coats, but should get the remaining 4 chairs second coated tomorrow or Tuesday. I resisted the urge to start work on the latest bureau and will save that for later in the week; it’ll give me something to look forward to. I’ve got a selection of old keys and will have to try those out on the bureau. It didn’t come with a key, which isn’t the end of the world, but it’s always nice to have a top that locks if possible.

