Tags

, , ,

Having done the prep yesterday, I got cracking on the bureau this morning. First of all, I colourwashed the carved details.

Nice carved detail to the plinth and legs

Then painted the whole of the bureau (except for the floral carvings)  in 2 coats of Autentico Vintage ‘Soft Grey’.

Colour washed and first coat on

I nipped off to an auction viewing for a few hours and then dry brushed the grey paintwork with Autentico Vintage ‘Ivory’.

I’m not finished yet; the dry brushing looks too obvious. I want a soft finish with the 2 colours melting into one another a little more. Once the paintwork has cured a little more, I’m going to gently sand it to get a more subtle effect (well, that’s the plan anyway).

Hubby got cracking on the oak table top this afternoon and what a good job he made of it too.  Here it is in the raw:

Just about to start sanding the oak top

Following sanding and after a quick wipe down, the table was waxed and then buffed to a soft sheen.

Looks better with all that dark varnish removed

I’m glad that’s another dining set completed!

Dining set, painted in Annie Sloan ‘Duck Egg Blue’

I can have some fun with the bureau and the dressing table for a day or two. There’s also a telephone table to wax and its seat pad to re-cover.

Tomorrow is buying day. I’ve got to sit and go through my list of interesting pieces and work out my maximum bids. There are a couple of very stylish armoires that I’ve got a very soft spot for, but I’ve a feeling that they will go for a lot of money. Hubby often comes to the sales with me, but I’m on my own tomorrow, with no-one to hold down my bidding arm *muhahahahah* 🙂  

Linking with: http://www.theshabbycreekcottage.com/

