Tags

, , , ,

This week seems to have flown by. I thought there would be loads of time to get my projects finished, but I’ve still got a little vintage, bow top dresser to finish off. It’s been painted in Autentico Vintage ‘Surrey Hills’ chalk paint; which is a similar shade to Farrow & Ball ‘French Gray’.

I did manage to finish off the second bureau and got it photographed this morning:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This afternoon was spent at an auction viewing, which was a bit of a mixed bag. There are about 30 lots that I’m interested in, with a mixture of items from bureaux to dressing tables and everything in between. This evening’s task was to sit down and put the lots in numerical order and go over the maximum bids I’d jotted down for each lot. It’s always good to do this an hour or two after viewing, when the items are still fresh in my mind, but when I’ve had time to reflect on what sort of price I’m willing to go to and how much work it will take to bring each item up to scratch.

Out of the 30 lots, there are about 5 or 6 which are firm favourites. A couple of them are chalk and cheese dining tables; one an oak barley twist, with a lovely pie crust edge to the table top, the other a Queen Anne table, which needs a lot of work to the top. If I end up with half a dozen items out of the 30, I’ll be happy enough, but you never can tell with auctions; it’s who’s there on the day and what price they are willing to pay. We shall see…

 

