Tags

, , ,

I finished the console table/wash stand today. The chalk paint dried ultra quickly this morning, so I managed to get it waxed this afternoon; I usually leave the paint to cure overnight. Here it is, with some lovely fragrant stocks that I picked up this morning:

Pine console table/wash stand, painted Annie Sloan ‘Old Ochre’.

I went along to an auction viewing this morning, but nothing took my fancy. I’ve a fair amount of raw furniture in stock, but will be needing some more in a week or so’s time. The armoire still hasn’t been touched as I can’t find the right sort of hinges. It’s very frustrating, but these things happen.

The bow top dresser was waxed today and as far as I know it’s ok. If it’s still ok tomorrow, it will hopefully be photographed. I was tempted to snap it earlier but the skies looked a little uncertain. It’s just as well I didn’t because we’ve just had one heck of a downpour. I walked Jasper home in the pouring rain – he enjoyed paddling through the little stream on the lane that had formed with the sudden downpour. The rain must have released the essential oils from all the hedgerow plants – the fragrance was wonderful. Husband stood laughing at the window as we both turned in the gateway – 2 drowned rats on their way home.

Not too sure what I’ll be working on tomorrow. There’s a barley twist table that my hubby has sanded and painted, but it has a slight stain on the top. The acid solution faded the stain a little, but not completely. I’ll have a look at it tomorrow to see if a tinted wax will do the trick in blending in the stain, or whether we’ll have to go for a medium oak stain to get uniformity. The 6 dining chairs really ought to be started, but there’s a little chunky pine dining table that looks far less work. And I really must make a little more progress on the vintage signs that I’d like to do. There just aren’t enough hours sometimes…

 

 

 

