I went to an auction viewing this afternoon and came home to discover a blot on the landscape. Thankfully the blot is temporary; it’s a blimp, which has been erected by the local anti-wind farm action group, to show the purported height of the wind turbines. Due to windy conditions the blimp is 50ft short of the full height, but nevertheless was a bit of a rude awakening as to what might be in store:

The blimp

The roof to the bottom right is my paint shack.

The turbines will be some of the largest in Europe, and only 500m from the nearest homes. I hadn’t realised how enormous they will be!

Onto less controversial things. I’m making good progress with the bureaux. Here’s the carcass of the one that’s being painted in Autentico Vintage ‘Cappuccino’:

Bureau painted in Cappuccino

The drawer fronts have been painted in Autentico Vintage ‘Linen’ to provide a subtle contrast. There’s a little more work, but I should get it finished over the weekend.

I now have to look over my auction bidding list and make any final adjustments to the two dozen lots I’m interested in. Unfortunately I’ve fallen for three items, so fear this is going to be an expensive weekend! I’ll be gutted if I don’t bag at least one of them.

