I managed to buy one of the three ‘special’ items that were on my bidding list. It’s a pair of chairs, with nice vintage upholstery. The other two lots that I was hankering after didn’t reach their reserves, which were way too high.

Other purchases included this:

RAF radio circa 1930’s

I bought it to sit on top of vintage chests of drawers when I photograph them. I wonder if someone listened to this radio when Winston Churchill gave his “We will fight them on the beaches” speech?

A little spinning chair, a bureau and a dresser were also bought, along with a large chest of drawers and a very pretty antique desk. The desk isn’t my usual kind of purchase and it was expensive too, but I liked the look of it when I spotted it yesterday, so went for it. Unfortunately several other bidders went for it too, hence the hefty price tag.

I’ve a furniture painting course next weekend and the bureau will probably be my demo piece, along with a chair:

I’m just about finished with the painting of the ‘Cappuccino’ bureau, so that will be waxed and finished tomorrow. Pics to follow…

 

