I’m not one for New Year resolutions, but nevertheless it’s a good time of year to take stock of things and make tentative plans for the future.

I thought the answer to my storage/work space problems were solved when I invested in the paint shack, but I’ve quickly outgrown it and it’s packed to the rafters with furniture-in-waiting. The light quality isn’t brilliant in there, so I prefer to paint outside whenever I can, which isn’t very often at this time of year. As luck would have it, I’ve been kept busy with the small stuff that I produce, so haven’t had to drag the big stuff out in the cold to attempt to do some work on them. It’s a little bit frustrating to see all the furniture in there, just waiting for a face-lift, but the prep is so much easier in decent weather and the paint goes on nicer when it’s warmer.

So, I’ve decided to cut down on the furniture refurbishing this year. I’ll still be doing some, but not quite so much as previously. To earn a living exclusively from the furniture, I have to refurbish, on average, 3 or 4 items a week, and have for sale about twenty or so items at any one time. And that takes some doing, particularly when I constantly moving stuff around to try and make room for more furniture. I contemplated taking on extra work space, but that extra space would come at a cost, which would then mean I’d have to refurbish 6 or 7 items a week to earn a living, and that makes for a lot of extra work, for the same money, once the additional expenses are factored in. I’d be merely treading water in a more spacious environment and that’s not exactly good business sense.

There are a few ideas on the back burner, which I just didn’t get around to doing anything with last year and I hope to get a chance to try some of them out this year. I’m not holding my breath because time seems to fly these days, but hopefully one or two of them will see the light of day.

In the meantime, I’ve been working on some new designs for the knobs and also have some fabric transfer samples to produce in the coming weeks.

 

 

If the weather stays fine, I’ll also be tackling a few of the furniture items and will hopefully clear a little room in the shack so that it can once again be a work space, rather than a storage space.

Jasper is still a little sore on his back leg, but is doing remarkably well considering how poorly he was a week ago. I’ve had to cut down his medication a little, as he was completely stoned on an evening – eyes glazed and all loved up, all he needed was a flowery headband and a colourful kaftan to complete the look of ageing, pot smokin’ 60’s hippie. I know, I spoil all his fun, but it’s in his best interests:-) By way of compensation, I bought him a new fleece rug, which he was completely underwhelmed about, much preferring something ultra sweet and fattening to keep him warm on a chilly January evening.

I’ve had the delights of a root planing, dental treatment today, so have a numb mouth, a swollen cheek and an empty bank account. Upon my return, hubby asked me to stop talking because the slow, slurred speech was getting on his nerves – I almost wept with the warmth of his concern for me;-)

Wishing you all a happy, healthy and prosperous New Year.

 

