I’ve made a start on the wood panels which will provide splashbacks in the bathroom.

Here’s what I started out with:

001

The pine panels have been cut to size:

006

I didn’t want natural pine and contemplated staining it a little darker, but settled on a grey wash to give a more beachy feel. I diluted some black and white chalk paint with around 80% water:

007

Then just brushed it on:

010

The panels have been left to dry overnight and are now ready to have the lettering added, which I’ve just made a start on:

011

013

After positioning the words, I slipped some carbon paper underneath the printer paper and now have the laborious task of tracing it all out:

015

016

Once that’s finished, I’ll be filling in the letters with paint. Then many coats of yacht varnish will be used to seal the wood.

This ‘little’ bathroom makeover seems to be taking an awfully long time!

