Tags

, , ,

I’m used to painting on big sheets of paper, usually A3, but sometimes A2. The smallest paintings I’ve done are around A4 size, so this latest project is a little bit different, as the size of the painting will be a mere 3.5″ x 2.5″:

World Record Challenge

World Record Challenge

I’m not sure what to paint, maybe a little mouse, or perhaps a bumble bee, or a tiny hummingbird would look cute. One thing’s for sure, there’s no margin for error when a painting is this small and I’m not the neatest/tidiest of painters at the best of times.

The painting is a bit of fun; it’s a challenge set by the Society for All Artists, who are hoping to set a new world record for the largest number of artworks exhibited under one roof. I haven’t done any painting for a while, so I’ll have a quick doodle on some scraps of paper, just to get back into the swing of things.

I guess it would be easiest to use my trusty pastels, as they allow a lot of control, but the artwork would probably get smudged in the post. Graphite would perfect, so I’m making life difficult and opting for watercolour instead. A painting this small needs colour, but watercolour has a life of it’s own; hopfully it will be kind to me today and produce something pretty.

I’ll have accomplished something later today and will post a pic of the little pic, if you get my gist…

I did accomplish ‘something’, although I can’t say that I’m exactly thrilled with the little hummer:

009

The watercolour paper wasn’t the brand I usually use, so I struggled a bit, and working in such a small format is tedious to say the least. Although it won’t win any prizes, it might just break a record, by being a tiny part of a huge collection of artwork.

I suppose I ought to wash my hands!

hummingbird watercolour painting

hummingbird watercolour painting

