Tags

, , , , ,

I visited St. Ives on my recent holiday in Cornwall and just loved the cute little lighthouse at the end of the harbour:

St. Ives lighthouse

St. Ives lighthouse

I also loved the cute little fishing boats:

fishing boat

fishing boat

So I set about combining the two cuties – doing a rough sketch, just to plot out my ideas for a painting:

001

Well I did warn you it was rough!

Here’s the next sketch on the watercolour paper. The woman is a little less scary in this one:-)

004

Next up is the background. I hope it turns out okay, as this is my first bash at painting a boat/seascape. I’ll post some progress photos of the watercolour painting as it develops over the coming days…

… Oh this painting is a pain in the r’s. It’s taking me much longer than expected and I’m nowhere near finished. Here’s a few progress pics:

002

003

006

Hopefully the next photos will show something that a 3 year old wouldn’t be ashamed of showing her Mum 🙂

… Well there’s still quite a way to go, but at least it’s sort of getting there:

002

The stone harbour wall was such fun to paint *cough* and the lighthouse is just about to topple into the sea – apparently there was a storm last night.

003

Some cheerful red balls will take your mind off the toppling lighthouse.

004

Ahoy there – the structural engineers managed to straighten the lighthouse a little; just as well seeing as there’s a ghostly figure of a woman appeared. I’ll give her some bling tomorrow, but for now I think I’ve had enough. Nothing like a fresh set of eyes to help see where to go next.

