Tags

, ,

As the title suggests, you’ll either love or hate the subject matter of my next artwork. The Seagull.

Whilst in Cornwall, I did the only thing you absolutely must do when on holiday at the seaside – I bought a bag of chips… and an icecream if you must know (raspberry ripple and blackcurrant cheesecake flavour, in a chocolate dipped cone with nuts sprinkled on top). And I sat on the sea front eating them. Alas I had no knotted handkerchief to complete the scenario, but nevertheless it was a typically British day out in St. Ives.

Needless to say, it wasn’t long before a handsome gentleman was attracted to my attributes – a seagull came to dine with me. I happily shared my meal with the seagull, oblivious to the disgust of a nearby holidaymaker, whom (my husband later told me) uttered several words of disapproval. It fell on deaf ears, as I was too engrossed in salt and vinegar soaked chips to worry about the social stigma of sharing a meal with a seagull.

Now I know it’s rude to stare, but I took a long hard look at the seagull whilst he scoffed my chips and I did think it would be nice to paint one, as to my eyes they are quite beautiful. And let’s face it, love em or hate em, the seaside wouldn’t be quite complete without them.

Here’s the sketch, all ready for painting.

seagull

seagull

This is much more within my comfort zone than the last artwork, so hopefully this painting will be a bit looser and spontaneous… we’ll see.

… and I burned the midnight oil and made quite good progress. I’ll finish him today or tomorrow.

seagull in progress

seagull in progress

… Just the background to do now:

seagull watercolour painting

seagull watercolour painting

