Tags

, , , , , ,

I did a lot of painting over Christmas, but January has plunged me back into the old work routine and I’ve not had much time to paint. However, I did make some time last weekend to do some small watercolours. All of them have a heart theme – I thought they’d make nice gifts for loved ones:

I also got the watercolour of Jasper framed and it’s now on my lounge wall, but the photos I took of it had too much glare, so here’s the painting before framing:

007

I got to try the Daniel Smith Quinacridone Magenta when I painted the purple peacock above; as you can see it really does give a lovely pop of colour. And I also bought my first tube of green paint. I usually mix my own greens, but wanted a vibrant shade to paint some of the feathers on the blue peacock, so purchased Hookers Green. It’s a nice vibrant colour and I’m sure it will be used again when I do some larger paintings of peacocks.

Talking of birds, I have a new friend in my life. He visits me every afternoon and stares in through the dining room window at me whilst I’m working at the computer:

002

I think he’s asking me to paint him:-) He’s a quiet chap during the day, but likes to scream the place down about 2.30 in the morning.

It has been all work and no play for quite a while here. I’m sure my work gives a strong indication as to my affinity with animals, especially horses. It’s been nearly 18 months since I lost Jasper and I’m still totally lost without him. I saw him the day he was born and he was with me from 6 months old until he died. In all the years I rode him, not once did I fall off! That is not a boast about my riding skills (which are no more than okay), but it is a boast about the temperament of Jasper and the bond we had for all those years. We hacked for miles and had a ball, although some of the local land owners didn’t quite see it that way (when we went off piste) and we were chased by a few irate farmers in tractors in our time:-)

I took a part loan of a horse for a short time last year, but it didn’t work out and I’m now taking tentative steps towards buying another horse. Something tells me that it will take a long time to find the right one, but nothing ventured nothing gained and I shall be going to view a few horses over the coming weeks and months to see if I can find a suitable match. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Until next time.

Jackie

 

 

 

